The Democratic National Committee (DNC, for its acronym in English) announced today that 20 of its candidates for the White House have passed the filter imposed by the party to participate in the first debate of the primaries, which will take place in Miami at the end of June.

To participate in this debate, the presidential candidates needed to gather donations to their campaign of at least 65,000 people or receive a 1% intention to vote in a minimum of three national or state surveys.

Out of the 24 candidates declared to date, 20 have passed the filter imposed by party management.

They are former Vice President Joe Biden, Senators Bernie Sanders, Kamala Harris, Elizabeth Warren, Cory Booker, Kirsten Gillibrand, Amy Klobuchar and Michael Bennet and Congressmen Tulsi Gabbard, Eric Swalwell, Tim Ryan.

Mayor of New York, Bill de Blasio, also passed, as well as the mayor of South Bend (Indiana), Pete Buttigieg; the governor of the state of Washington, Jay Inslee; former Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper; and former congressman John Delaney.

Former Secretary of Housing and former mayor of San Antonio (Texas) Julián Castro complete the list of 20; along with charismatic ex-candidate for the Texas Senate Beto O’Rourke; the businessman Andrew Yang; and the writer and activist Marianne Williamson.

Only governor of Montana, Steve Bullock; Congressman Seth Moulton; the mayor of Miramar (Florida), Wayne Messam; and veteran former Alaska senator Mike Gravel were left out.

The debate will take place on June 26 and 27 in Miami in two runs of 10 candidates.

Although this first debate is scheduled for the end of the month, Democrats will not be seen at the polls until February 3 of next year, when Iowa, the first state to vote, will hold its primaries.

Whoever prevails in this crowded Democratic contest will surely play the White House to the president, Donald Trump, who in November 2020 will aspire to reelection.

According to an average poll conducted by the Real Clear Poltics portal, Biden leads the vote intention among Democratic supporters with 32.2%, followed by Sanders with 16.8%, Warren (10.8%), Buttigieg ( 7.2%) and Harris (6.6%).

Déjanos tu opinión